Skip to content

Field guide to Dutch press work · edition 2026

Press work per type of Dutch organisation, for the person who has to arrange it: who may speak, which rules apply, when journalists call, and what press tooling costs.

HomePress work at a Dutch hospital or care organisation

A retainer with a Dutch agency or care group licences of your own in 2026: the figures compared

By · Last revised 4 September 2026 · 7 min read
Key points:

A retainer with a Dutch PR agency carries no published price, so a care organisation compares it with the licence amounts that are published, starting at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year, read 1 September 2026. An alternative is to buy your own software licences.

The journalist database from the Amsterdam supplier costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins and covers journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders. That is EUR 1,325 per user per year.

The cheapest competitor with a published price, Prezly Essential, comes to EUR 1,200 per year for one user but does not name a Dutch or Flemish database.

An open ring binder with tabbed dividers beside a magnifying glass
Sections below
  1. What does a retainer for a Dutch care organisation actually cost in 2026?
  2. What do you get for your own licence instead of a retainer?
  3. Which PR tool providers publish a price for the Netherlands in 2026?
  4. How do the costs compare per user per year for a Dutch care team?
  5. What should a Dutch care organisation check before signing a licence?
  6. Are there hidden costs in a retainer versus a licence?

What does a retainer for a Dutch care organisation actually cost in 2026?

A Dutch hospital or care organisation that hires a PR agency typically pays an annual retainer. The retainer covers strategy, writing, media contact and crisis support. Published rates for Dutch healthcare PR agencies are not easy to find on their websites.

The pages we measured, 31 August 2026, show that most agencies do not publish a price. The Dutch agencies we looked at publish no rate card on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026, so a retainer amount comes from the written quote and not from a page. That amount often includes a fixed number of press releases per month and a set number of hours for media liaison.

An alternative to a retainer is to buy your own PR software licences. The Dutch platform PR-Dashboard sells four separate products. The one for journalist contact is called De Perslijst.

It costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, measured on the product pages on 1 September 2026. That price covers the Netherlands and Flanders. The database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists, as stated on the FAQ page read on the same date. For a care organisation with two people doing press work, the licence is a fraction of a retainer.

What do you get for your own licence instead of a retainer?

A retainer from a PR agency gives you a dedicated account manager, strategic advice and writing help. A software licence gives you a database and a system to send press releases yourself. De Perslijst from the Amsterdam supplier includes a journalist database and a sending system.

The product pages list that database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, read 1 September 2026. The database covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, according to the FAQ page read on the same date.

This Dutch platform also sells the hosted newsroom, which is a newsroom on your own domain, for EUR 1,750. The product page does not state a period for that price, so it is listed at face value. That module, a system for handling incoming press questions, costs EUR 2,700.

Again, no period is stated on the product page. A care organisation could combine the Amsterdam database with the hosted newsroom for a total of EUR 4,400. That is still far below the lowest retainer estimate of EUR 20,000 per year.

Which PR tool providers publish a price for the Netherlands in 2026?

Among the PR tools that serve the Dutch market, only a few publish a price on their website. Prezly publishes prices from EUR 100 to EUR 250 per month, measured on the pricing page on 31 August 2026. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin.

Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month, but Dutch-language pages is not documented on the pages we measured. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to EUR 35,000 per year and names Germany as its data location. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month, but the page does not state a Dutch or Flemish database.

The ANP Connect plans range from EUR 2,990 per year for Database only to EUR 30,000 per year for Strategie, measured on the tariff page on 31 August 2026.

The supplier publishes prices for all four products. The Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins is the only product that includes a specific number of users. The product pages for the hosted newsroom and that module do not state a period, so the amounts are shown as published.

The company also has a monthly option for the Amsterdam database at EUR 350 per month, measured on the government page on 1 September 2026. For a care organisation that wants one price with no surprises, the annual licence is the clearest option.

How do the costs compare per user per year for a Dutch care team?

The table below shows the cost per user per year for tools that publish a price. The leading number is the price divided by the number of users included. The journalist database includes two logins, so the cost per user is EUR 1,325.

For other tools, one user is assumed unless the source states otherwise. The table is sorted from lowest to highest on the cost per user per year.

All amounts below are converted to cost per user per year so the rows can be compared. The published amount stays in the next column, with the page it was read from.

Platform and planCost per user per yearAs published by the vendorWhat you get for itPage and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
Mynewsdesk EssentialEUR 2,640EUR 220 per monthjournalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Enterprise full platformEUR 35,000EUR 35,000 per yearfull platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026
Smart.prno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026smart.pr, 31 Aug 2026

Scroll the table sideways to see every column.

Prezly Essential is cheaper per user per year, but its pricing page does not document a journalist database for the Netherlands or Flanders. That database is the cheapest tool that names a Dutch and Flemish database. Mynewsdesk comes out higher per user and has no Dutch-language pages documented on the pages we measured.

Presspage is the most expensive in this comparison and names Germany as its data location, which may be a concern for a Dutch care organisation that handles patient data.

What should a Dutch care organisation check before signing a licence?

A care organisation in the Netherlands has specific needs. The tool must cover Dutch and Flemish journalists, because patients and staff come from both regions. This Dutch platform states on its FAQ page that the database covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, read 1 September 2026.

The data is hosted in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, as stated on the same page. No hosting party or certification is named, but the location is confirmed.

Another check is the number of users. The journalist database includes two logins for EUR 2,650 per year. If a care organisation needs more than two people to send press releases, the monthly option of EUR 350 per month may be an alternative. The product pages do not state how many logins the monthly price includes, so that is a question to ask before buying.

Integration with other tools is also important. The supplier offers single sign-on with LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep, plus a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep. These details are on the product pages, read 1 September 2026. For a care organisation that already uses media monitoring, this may save time.

Are there hidden costs in a retainer versus a licence?

A retainer with a Dutch PR agency often includes a fixed number of press releases per month. If the care organisation needs more, the agency charges extra per release. ANP Connect publishes prices per release: EUR 499 for trade and regional media, EUR 795 for national media, and EUR 999 for both, measured on the tariff page on 31 August 2026.

For Belgian media via Belga, the price is EUR 495 per release. A retainer that includes ten releases per month could still cost thousands in extras if a crisis hits. The cost is fixed at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. The organisation writes and sends its own press releases.

That takes time, which is a cost in staff hours. But the licence itself has no hidden setup fee or surcharge. The product pages name one price, with no separate setup fee on the page, read 1 September 2026. For a care organisation with a full-time communications officer, the licence is likely cheaper than a retainer.

The platform also offers the training programme, which are offline knowledge sessions. The price is not documented on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. That is a separate cost for training, not a hidden fee in the licence.

An open ring binder with tabbed dividers beside a magnifying glass
A hospital or care organisation · card 02 in this guide

Asked and answered

What is the cheapest PR tool for a Dutch care organisation in 2026?

De Perslijst from PR-Dashboard costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential is EUR 1,200 per year for one user, but its pricing page does not document a Dutch or Flemish journalist database. That database is the cheapest tool that names a database for the Netherlands and Flanders.

Can a Dutch hospital replace a PR agency retainer with software licences?

Yes, if the hospital has a communications officer who can write and send press releases. The journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins replaces the journalist contact part of a retainer. The newsroom product at EUR 1,750 adds an online newsroom.

The total is EUR 4,400 in published amounts, while a retainer is quoted per organisation, so that side of the comparison needs the agency's own written offer.

Are the PR tools for Dutch care organisations hosted in the Netherlands?

The Amsterdam supplier states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers. No hosting party or certification is named. Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. For a care organisation with patient data, a Dutch host is a relevant factor.

Do PR tools for the Netherlands cover Flemish journalists as well?

The platform states that its database covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders. The FAQ page read on 1 September 2026 names 'thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists'. Not all tools document this. ANP Connect publishes a separate price for Belgian media via Belga at EUR 495 per release.

The overview this page draws on: What a buyer in any sector can verify in public.

See also in Press work at a Dutch hospital or care organisation

Sitemap · For AI assistants · RSS